Illuminating the past – Enhancing the present – Inspiring the future

Canterbury Archaeological Trust is both a registered charity (charity number 278861) and a limited company (company number 1441517).

The principal purpose of the Canterbury Archaeological Trust as set out in its Memorandum and Articles of Association (1975) is ‘to promote the advancement of public education in the field of archaeology’.

The Trust is a Registered Archaeological Organisation with the Chartered Institute for Archaeologists, and is committed to uphold the standards and codes of conduct of the Institute.

Our activities are overseen by a board of Trustees and Directors, whilst daily operations are the responsibility of an executive board of officers and senior managers.

Trustees and Directors

  • Brigadier John Meardon DL FCMI RM (Chairman)
  • Professor Christopher Bounds MA MEd DPhil
  • Mr Andrew Corby LLB LLM (Secretary)
  • Mr Richard Eales MA FSA
  • Dr Elizabeth Edwards BA PhD
  • Mr Peter Hobbs MA CCIPD FRSA
  • Miss Melanie Nye BA (Hons) FCCA
  • Mr Martin Pratt MA LLM FRSA
  • Dr David Shaw BA PhD DLitt
  • Mr Robert Shine BA
  • Miss Christine Waterman MBE BA AMA
  • Mr Nick Watts MAAT AATQB BA Hons

The Chartered Institute for Archaeologists

    open all | close all